I don’t know how I do it!


If like me you are a die hard SATC fan you will be waiting with breath that is bated to meet SJPs new alter ego Kate Reddy from the soon to be released film I Don’t Know How She Does It.  Kate a working mum is someone I am sure SJP will identify with a wee bit more than Carrie (apologies for the blasphemy SATC fans) and I hope against hope that the film will not disappoint as a fan of both Carrie and Kate!

I read Allison Pearson’s wonderful story when it was first published nearly 10 years ago the book was a gift from my reassuring husband to demonstrate that I was not alone in my working mum status. I was a full time working mother of one at the time riddled with the guilt that comes as part of the package. The book both reassured me and made me laugh at Kate and myself I also realised that I let the observations and comments of others bring me down. Its amazing how judgemental other females can be go…sisterhood!!

Since reading the book my brood has increased to three lovely daughters and a crazy dog and luckily I now work part time if you can call it that! The juggling and organisation has become second nature to me but like all other mothers in my position the risk of tumbling from the tightrope is there on a daily if not hourly basis.

Don’t get me wrong I am neither moaning or groaning about my lot I am blissfully happy but it does not come without challenge or sacrifice. The challenges however are for the most part fun and the sacrifice minimal and purely material. I now mostly window shop the pieces I would love to buy and make do with the pieces that I can.  I rely heavily on my chronic hoarding of clothing to reinvent my looks each season and I thank heaven that fashion is cyclical!!

The breed of working mums is not a new breed we are now the norm in todays modern society and I am sure in the face of the recession our numbers will grow. For those about to join the gang please don’t be shy come forward and bask in guilt free glory and join this crazy circus of juggling and walking of tightropes. I don’t know how I do it but I wouldn’t have it any other way happy juggling!

 

Me and My Girls

About shareitwearit

StylesharingLookwearing BlogwritingShopbrowsing PhotoviewingFashionfinding MindmeetingShareitWearit
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I don’t know how I do it!

  1. Caz says:

    First of all such a good post and secondly I can’t wait to see the film! Should I read the book first?! This sort of juggling is prob the next sage of my life and it is blooming terrifying. House buying over next few months and then everything else starts – eek;)

    Caz x
    http://www.mystylisms.blogspot.com

  2. Princess Biscuit says:

    Great post, Cookie! You do manage to look stylish all the time, while running after those lovely girls (and dog, and husband, and..;) x

Leave a Reply

