William Chambers Millinery


From designing head pieces worn by Kelis and Anna Matronic to winning Scottish Fashion Awards Accessory Designer of the Year 2010 and with a further nomination in 2011 William Chambers is the Scottish milliner in and on everyones heads. Chamber’s designs are classic and fresh each demonstrating an understanding of what enhances a woman’s style while underlining her individuality. Despite being in the midst of the launch of a new collection William has kindly agreed to share his evolution and inspiration in this topper of an interview enjoy…

The evolution of William Chambers Millinery?
I have always had a love of hats so I enrolled on a course at the Glasgow Met to do a millinery course in 2007. Hats are an amazing accessory, they say a whole lot more than, than a bag for example. A hat can change someone’s whole look and mood; it can draw something out of them that’s not normally seen. That’s what I find interesting and it’s probably why hats are big again – women want to stand out and look different. That‘s what drew me to start designing and making hats.

The inspiration?
I get inspired by what surrounds me, mostly its birds and flowers/plants. I always get inspired when I visit Paris flea markets.

The William Chambers woman?
The woman who wears one of my hats is someone who is confident in her style, she wants to wear something special that is unique.

The present?
Recently I moved into a much larger studio space, where I make my spring/summer, autumn/winter and bridal ranges. This is where I also meet all my clients for commissions. I am content in where I am presently; I am still building my profile throughout Scotland and the UK.

The future?
The main aim for the future is to get stockists through out the UK and especially London.

The stockists?
Just now my work can be purchased from me by appointment only at my studio where I accept commissions. I have an online shop which sells a selection on my hats.

A snapshot of the SS11 collection as shown at Nightwalk styling by Jonathan Pryce from Les Garçons De Glasgow




Find William Chambers Millinery here and follow on Facebook

About shareitwearit

StylesharingLookwearing BlogwritingShopbrowsing PhotoviewingFashionfinding MindmeetingShareitWearit
This entry was posted in I Ask You Answer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

