As Soft as Perry Como or Pianissimo

This blog has evolved from reading a tuneful tweet by noted blogger Style Slicker and the subsequent download of one of the catchiest tunes I have ever heard! The tune Doop Doo De Doop (A Doodlin Song) by Blossom Dearie provides the background music on the look book video of designer Elizabeth Lau’s SS11 collection. It went like this I read the tweet, bought the tune, danced the dance and blogged the blog!

Blossom Dearie (even her name is grin inducing) was an American jazz singer and pianist renowned for her girlish singing voice who had an amazing career spanning decades. From playing bebop to establishing her own label Daffodil records her discography is vast and she continued to perform until 2007 sadly dying last year at the age of 82. The tune and the history of the artist fit perfectly with Elizabeth Lau’s SS11 collection as it evokes the right amount of nostalgia while remaining as fresh as a blossom tree on spring day (sorry it’s the song I have it playing now for inspiration).

As I listened and Blossom Dearie sang to me to make it softer like Perry Como and pianissimo I started browsing for the softest knits to snuggle up and noodle with starting of course with the beautiful Elizabeth Lau knitwear available at Coggles . I am in love with the cardis and hope, if Santa is listening to be wearing one on Christmas Day! Whilst browsing I also fell in love with this elegantly simple sweater dress.


I then doodle over to one of my favourite sites Young British Designers where you can invest in a Black Warrior Snuggy by Jiwon Ree for Jas M.B. An amazing piece of design and versatility not to mention warmth.


Moving on in my wander through warmth I came across this Halston cashmere and angora poncho at Net-a-Porter styled to perfection with Stella McCartney thigh high (sigh) satin boots.


Lastly on my snuggle fest I came across this Thakoon Addition two-tone draped jersey cardigan also at Net-a-Porter which I think adds a bit of glamour to my knitwear noodling!


These pieces are both inspirational and aspirational to me so at this moment in time I will continue to snuggle with my sixteen year old Red or Dead striped mohair sweater dress. I dust this off every other winter it never dates and always guarantees warmth and wearability!

So as Blossom Dearie sings at the beginning of this catchy song “why don’t you join the group it’s better than being a party poop” and share what you will be snuggling into this winter! Doop doo de doop…

Images from Coggles Young British Designers and Net-a-Porter

About shareitwearit

StylesharingLookwearing BlogwritingShopbrowsing PhotoviewingFashionfinding MindmeetingShareitWearit
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to As Soft as Perry Como or Pianissimo

  1. Kit says:

    What a sweet post. Elizabeth Lau is opening her first pop up shop on Ganton Street behind Carnaby Street on the 24th Nov to the 24th Dec ;P

Leave a comment